Sending email...

Email sent!

TREKKING IN 2021... See our latest blog

Traverser le Grand Paradis Guidé

L'ALTA VIA 2 DE CHARDONNEY À COURMAYEUR

La Traverse du Grand Paradis ou Alta Via 2 est une traversée isolée d'une beauté époustouflante qui parcours 130 kilomètres de Chardonney à Courmayeur dans la vallée d'Aoste. Cette randonnée autoguidée de 8 jours vous emmène à travers les cols de haute altitude et à travers un terrain accidenté intact, séjournant dans des cabanes de montagne et des hôtels. Ce trek longue distance est incontournable pour le randonneur chevronné à la recherche du prochain défi.

9 nuits d'itinéraire

JOUR 1 - ARRIVÉE À COURMAYEUR

Comme nous sommes basés à Chamonix, veuillez demander si vous souhaitez avoir un briefing autoguidé du trek pour passer sur n'importe quel aspect du trek qui vous pose soucis avant de commencer votre aventure.

Si vous avez besoin d'un briefing le jour de votre arrivée, veuillez le préciser au moment de la réservation afin que nous puissions nous assurer que quelqu'un sera disponible.

Hébergement

Hôtel 3 étoiles, chambres privées en-suite , B&B

JOUR 2 - CHAMPORCHER AU REFUGE PERADZA

Le trek autoguidé Traverse du Gran Paradiso commence par prendre les transports en commun tôt le matin de Courmayeur à Champorcher (environ 4 heures) ou un taxi privé, demandez pour plus de détails.

Le trek part de Champorcher en suivant la rivière jusqu'au Torrent Ayasse et en traversant vers l'ouest à travers les pins jusqu'au Pont Ravire à 1567m. Le chemin monte abruptement vers le Refuge Dondena, à 2097m, qui est ouvert pendant la saison principale de trekking pour des rafraîchissements et l'hébergement. Vous continuez le long de la flore époustouflante jusqu'au lac Miserin et montez en pente raide jusqu'au col Finestra di Champorcher à 2828m avec une vue imprenable sur le parc national avant de faire votre descente vers le refuge Peradza à 2526m.

Statistiques quotidiennes:

Distance: 13km | Dénivelé: + 1400m | Descente: -300m

Hébergement

Refuge, dortoir, demi-pension

JOUR 3 - REFUGE PERADZA AU REFUGE VITTORIA SELLA

Le troisième jour commence par une douce descente à travers les hauts pâturages et à travers les ruisseaux jusqu'à Lillaz (1617m). De là, vous marchez jusqu'à Cogne (1540m). Des rafraîchissements et des magasins peuvent être trouvés le long du chemin. Vous empruntez ensuite le chemin du village à travers les prairies et le long de la rivière jusqu'au hameau de Valnontey. Une fois passé le hameau, le chemin monte au-delà des jardins botaniques et de la rivière en cascade jusqu'au Refuge Vittoria Sella à 2584m.

Statistiques quotidiennes:

Distance: 17km | Dénivelé: + 1050m | Descente: -990m

Hébergement

Refuge, dortoir, demi-pension

JOUR 4 - REFUGE VITTORIA SELLA AUX EAUX ROUSSES

Le quatrième jour est l'un des meilleurs jours de la traversée, vous commencez par une montée jusqu'au point culminant du trek et le col Lauson (3299m) avec une vue imprenable sur le Cervin, le Mont Rose, la Gran Sassière et le Monte Emilius. Une descente raide et longue vous amènerez à travers les anciens bâtiments de ferme de Levionaz d’en Bas (2303m) et finalement à notre lieu de repos pour la nuit à l’hameau des Eaux Rousses (1666m).

Statistiques quotidiennes:

Distance: 16km | Dénivelé: + 710m | Descente: -1630m

Hébergement

Auberge avec chambres twin ou doubles, demi-pension

JOUR 5 - EAUX ROUSSES À RHEMES NOTRE DAME

Depuis les Eaux Rousses, vous ferez une montée régulière à travers les bois de mélèzes jusqu'à l'ancien corps de ferme d'Orvieille (2164m). Laissant la forêt derrière vous, vous vous dirigiez ensuite vers les pâturages en passant devant une série de lacs jusqu’au Col di Entrelor (3007m), et votre premier aperçu du Mont Blanc. La descente du col vous emmène au Plan de la Feya (2403m), avant la dernière descente de la journée vers le village de Rhemes Notre Dame (1723m) avec ses commerces et commodités.

Statistiques quotidiennes:

Distance: 16km | Dénivelé: + 1340m | Descente: -1300m

Hébergement

Hôtel 3 étoiles avec chambres twin ou doubles, demi-pension

JOUR 6 - RHEMES NOTRE DAME À VALGRASENCHE

Aujourd’hui, vous montez régulièrement à travers le bois de mélèze jusqu'au torrent Alpage à 2179m. De là, vous montez en pente raide à travers le terrain parsemé de rochers jusqu'au Col Fenetre (2840m), entouré par la vue imprenable sur la Gran Becca du Mont Testa del Rutor et le Mont Blanc. Une descente relativement facile vous emmène au Refuge Chalet de l'Epée (2370m) où des rafraîchissements peuvent être achetés. Vous descendez du refuge, avec une vue imprenable sur la vallée en contrebas, à travers la forêt de mélèzes jusqu’au village de Valgrisenche (1675m) et votre hébergement pour la nuit.

Statistiques quotidiennes:

Distance: 18 km | Dénivelé: + 1260m | Descente: -1350m

Hébergement

Hôtel avec chambres twin ou doubles, demi-pension

JOUR 7 - VALGRISENCHE À VALLON DU FOND

Votre journée commence par une promenade facile à travers le fond de la vallée jusqu'au village de Planval. De là, vous montez à travers les bois ombragés avant de suivre le ruisseau sinueux jusqu'aux Baraques du Fond et au Lac du Fond à 2439m. Vous faites ensuite une ascension régulière vers le Col de la Crosatie à 2838m avec une vue imprenable sur la chaîne du Mont Blanc. Le sentier descend ensuite en pente raide dans un premier temps, dans la vallée reculée et le Bivouac Promond, avant de redescendre plus loin dans le Vallon du Fond. Vous terminez la journée au Dortoir du Paradis à 1645m.

Statistiques quotidiennes:

Distance: 15km | Dénivelé: + 1150m | Descente: -1180m

Hébergement

Dortoir du Paradis, dortoir, demi-pension

JOUR 8 - VALLON DU FOND À LA THUILLE

Vous revenez sur vos pas de la veille jusqu'au refuge du bivouac, avant de faire votre ascension sur le col de la Haute (2860m). De là, vous avez une longue descente passant par le Refuge Defeyes, le lac du Glacier et les magnifiques cascades avant d'atteindre La Joux (1603m). Vous marchez ensuite vers La Thuile.

Statistiques quotidiennes:

Distance: 18 km | Dénivelé: + 1205m | Descente: -1390m

Hébergement

Hôtel 3 étoiles avec chambres twin ou doubles, demi-pension

JOUR 9 - LA THUILE À COURMAYEUR

Le dernier jour de la traversée, et dans la plus pure tradition, la journée commence par une montée raide au départ de La Thuile, en passant par le hameau de La Balme avant de remonter à travers la vallée de Youla en pente raide jusqu'au Col d'Arp (2570m). Du col, vous traversez vers l'ouest jusqu'au col de Youla (2661m) et profitez de la vue imprenable sur le Mont Blanc depuis une position élevée. Une descente difficile et raide sur un terrain meuble vous emmène sur le sentier très fréquenté du Tour Mont Blanc. Vous traversez ensuite direction nord-est jusqu'au col Checrouit (1956m), avant de redescendre vers Courmayeur (1226m).

Statistiques quotidiennes:

Distance: 18 km | Dénivelé: + 1100m | Descente: -1100m

Hébergement

Hôtel 3 étoiles avec chambres twin ou doubles, B&B

JOUR 10 - DEPART DE COURMAYEUR

Breakfast is included however on the departure day you are free to leave at any time you wish.

Hébergement

Le petit-déjeuner est inclus, mais vous êtes libre de partir quand vous voulez.

Notes du guide:

Une fois le trek terminé, j'espère que vous conviendrez que la Traverse du Grand Paradis est vraiment un trek exceptionnel.

"Take only memories, leave only footprints"
Chief Seattle

Sending email...

UK: +44 (0)161 408 1222

France: +33 (0)7 81 58 69 03

USA: +1 303 800 5866

Australia: +61 75660 6258

Traverse the Gran Paradiso Guided Trek

Book now
Feefo - Independant Service Rating
Enquire now

The Traverse of the Gran Paradiso or Alta Via 2 is a remote and stunningly beautiful gem taking you 130 kilometers from Chardonney to Courmayeur in the Aosta valley. This 8 day guided Traverse of the Gran Paradiso trek takes youover high altitude cols and through seemingly pristine untouched rugged terrain resting in mountain huts and hotels. This long distance trek is must for the seasoned trekker who is looking for the next challenge.

9 night itinerary

Day 1 ARRIVAL IN COURMAYEUR:

On the day of arrival we have a trek briefing in the hotel lounge at 5pm, this gives you the opportunity to meet your guide and the rest of the group.

During the briefing we will go though all the necessary information including itinerary, accommodation, meals and bag transfer. The guide will also discuss plans for the first day of the trek. You will have the opportunity to ask any questions you might have so you are fully informed before you start your adventure.

Accommodation:

3 Hotel, private en-suite rooms, B & B

Day 2 CHAMPORCHER TO REFUGE PERADZA

On day 1 we take a minibus transfer from Courmayeur to Champorcher (approximately 1 hour).

We start the trek from Champorcher by following the river uphill to Torrent Ayasse and traversing westwards through pine trees to Pont Ravire (1567m). The path climbs steeply to the Refuge Dondena (2097m). The refuge is open during the main trekking season for refreshments and accommodation. We continue along the stunning flora to Lake Miserin and steeply up to the Col Finestra di Champorcher (2828m), with stunning views of the national park before making your descent to the Refuge Peradza at (2526m).

Daily stats:

Distance: 13km | Height gain: +1400m |Descent: -300m

Accommodation:

Refuge, dormitory, half board.

Day 3 REFUGE PERADZA TO REFUGE VITTORIA SELLA:

Day three starts with a gentle descent through high pastureland and across streams down to Lillaz (1617m). From here, we will walk to Cogne (1540m). Refreshments and shops can be found along the way. We then take the path from the village, across meadows and along the river, to the hamlet of Valnontey. Once past the hamlet, the path climbs up past the botanical gardens and cascading river to the Refuge Vittoria Sella at 2584m).

Daily stats:

Distance: 17km | Height gain: +1050m | Descent: -990m

Accommodation:

Refuge, dormitory, half board.

Day 4 REFUGE VITTORIA SELLA TO EAUX ROUSSES:

The fourth day is one of the best days on the traverse, as you start with a climb up to the highest point on the trek and the Col Lauson (3299m) with stunning views towards the Matterhorn and Monte Rosa, Gran Sassiere and Monte Emilius. A steep and long descent will take us down through the old farm buildings of Levionaz d’en Bas (2303m) and eventually to our resting place for the night at the hamlet of Eaux Rousses (1666m).

Daily stats:

Distance: 16km | Height gain: +710m | Descent: -1630m

Accommodation:

Auberge with twin or double rooms, half board.

Day 5 EAUX ROUSSES TO RHEMES NOTRE DAME:

From Euax Rousses, we will make a steady climb upwards through larch woodland to the old farm building of Orvieille (2164m). Leaving the woodland behind, we then move into open pastureland as we make our way past a series of lakes, to the Col di Entrelor (3007m) and your first glimpse of Mont Blanc. The descent from the col takes us to the Plan de la Feya (2403m), before the final descent of the day to the village of Rhemes Notre Dame (1723m) with its shops and amenities.

Daily stats:

Distance: 16km | Height gain: +1340m | Descent: -1300m

Accommodation:

3-star hotel with twin or double rooms, half board.

Day 6 RHEMES NOTRE DAME TO VALGRASENCHE:

On the 6th day, we make our way steadily up through larch wood to the Alpage Torrent at (2179m). From here, we trek steeply up through the boulder strewn terrain to the Col Fenetre (2840m), surrounded by the stunning views of Gran Becca du Mont Testa del Rutor and Mont Blanc. A relatively easy descent takes us to the Refuge Chalet de l'Epee (2370m) where refreshments can be found. We descend from the refuge with stunning views down into the valley below, working our way down through the larch woodland to the village of Valgrisenche (1675m) and our accommodation for the night.

Daily stats:

Distance: 18km | Height gain: +1260m | Descent: -1350m

Accommodation:

Hotel with twin or double rooms, half board.

Day 7 VALGRISENCHE TO VALLON DU FOND:

Your day starts with an easy walk through the valley bottom to the village of Planval. From here, you will climb up through shaded woodlands before following the meandering stream to the Baraques du Fond and the Lac du Fond at 2439m. You will then make a steady ascent to the Col de la Crosatie at 2838m with amazing views of the Mont Blanc range. The trail then descents steeply at first, into the remote valley and the Bivouac Promond, before descending further in to the Vallon du Fond. You will end the day at Dortoir du Paradis at 1645m.

Daily stats:

Distance: 15km | Height gain: +1150m | Descent: -1180m

Accommodation:

Dortoir du Paradis, dormitory, half board.

Day 8 VALLON DU FOND TO LA THUILLE:

We retrace our steps from the day before to the bivouac hut, before making our ascent over the Haute Pass (2860m). From here, we have a long descent past the Refuge Defeyes, Lac du Glacier and the magnificent waterfalls before we reach La Joux (1603m). We then trek ahead to La Thuile.

Daily stats:

Distance: 18km | Height gain: +1205m | Descent: -1390m

Accommodation:

3-star hotel with twin or double rooms, half board.

Day 9 LA THUILE TO COURMAYEUR:

The 9th day is the final day on the traverse, and in true tradition, the day starts with a steep climb out of La Thuile, passing via the hamlet of La Balme before climbing up through the Valley di Youla steeply to the Col d'Arp (2570m). From the col, we traverse westwards to the Col de Youla (2661m) and enjoy the amazing views of Mont Blanc from a lofty position. A tricky and steep descent on loose ground takes us to the well-worn Tour Mont Blanc path. We then traverse north east to the Col Checrouit (1956m), before descending to Courmayeur (1226m).

Daily stats:

Distance:18km | Height gain: +1100m | Descent: -1100m

Accommodation:

3-star hotel with twin or double rooms, B&B.

Day 10 DEPART COURMAYEUR:

Breakfast is included however on the departure day you are free to leave at any time you wish.

Accommodation:

3-star Hotel, B & B

Guide notes:

Once you have completed the trek I hope you will agree that the Traverse of the Gran Paradiso is truly an exceptional trek.

"Take only memories, leave only footprints"
Chief Seattle