Sending email...

Email sent!

TREKKING IN 2021... See our latest blog

Tour du Mont Blanc Trek Autoguidé Complet

Randonnée indépendante sur le TMB

Le Tour du Mont Blanc est l'un des treks le plus populaire et le plus long d’Europe, et il n’est pas difficile de comprendre pourquoi. L’environment est vraiment spectaculaire, couvrant une distance d'environ 170km avec des vues imprenables jour après jour.
Le Tour du Mont Blanc autoguidé est réservé aux randonneurs indépendants avec beaucoup d’expérience. Le dénivelé quotidien sur le circuit du Tour du Mont Blanc est substantiel avec en tout une accumulation d’environ 9000m along du trek de 10 jours.

11 nuits d'itinéraire

JOUR 1 - ARRIVÉE À CHAMONIX

Comme nous sommes situés à Chamonix, veuillez demander si vous souhaitez avoir un briefing autoguidé du trek pour poser des questions ou passer par dessus n’importe quel aspect du trek qui vous pose problème, avant de commencer votre aventure.

Si vous avez besoin d’un briefing le jour de votre arrivée, veuillez le préciser au moment de la réservation afin que nous puissions nous assurer que quelqu’un sera disponible.

Hébergement

Hôtel 3 étoiles, chambres en-suite privées, B&B

JOUR 2 - CHAMONIX AUX HOUCHES

Vous commencez le trek complet du Tour du Mont Blanc par un départ à Chamonix, en prenant le téléphérique jusqu’au Planpraz, à 2000m d’altitude. À partir de là, vous prenez le chemin TMB jusqu’au Col du Brévent, à 2525m d’altitude, et descendez le long de la magnifique crête jusqu’au Refuge Bel Lachat. Depuis le refuge, vous effectuez la longue et difficile descente via le Parc Merlet jusqu’aux Houches et votre hébergement à l’hôtel pour la nuit.

Statistiques quotidiennes:

Utilisation du téléphérique:
Distance: 13km | Dénivelé: +700m | Descente: -1500m

Hébergement

Hôtel 3 étoiles, chambres en-suite privées, repas du soir et petit-déjeuner

Notes du guide:

Cette journée semble souvent l’une des plus difficiles du trek car les clients ne sont pas complètement acclimatés. La descente peut être aussi pénible et, est probablement la plus difficile du trek, en raison de 1500m de descente et d’un terrain rocheux. Les bâtons de marche sont fortement recommandés pour sauver les genoux!!

JOUR 3 - LES HOUCHES AUX CONTAMINES

Votre journée commence par une balade en téléphérique jusqu’au Bellevue, à 1802m, avec une vue impressionnante sur la chaîne du Mont Blanc depuis le haut extrémité Ouest de la vallée de Chamonix. Vous avez ensuite le choix d’itinéraires vers les Contamines, via Bionnassay et Champel, ou via le Col du Tricot et les Chalets de Miage.

Statistiques quotidiennes:

Utilisation du téléphérique:
Via Bionnassay:
Distance: 15km | Dénivelé: +100m | Descente: -700m
Via le Col du Tricot:
Distance: 13km | Dénivelé: +800m | Descente: -1300m

Hébergement

Hôtel 3 étoiles, chambres en-suite privées, repas du soir et petit-déjeuner

Notes du guide:

C’est le deuxième jour et vous vous sentez probablement fatigué après hier. Le terrain est très différent aujourd’hui du premier jour, moins accidenté et plus vert car vous ferez de la randonnée à travers les pâturages de haute altitude. Si vous faites la randonnée via le Col du Tricot, découvrez la tarte myrtille aux chalets de Miage, très mémorable et délicieuse!

JOUR 4 - LES CONTAMINES AUX REFUGE DES MOTTETS

Une belle journée vous attend et vous faites votre ascension à travers trois cols; le Col du Bonhomme, le Col de la Croix du Bonhomme et le Col des Fours 2665m. Descente raide à travers le paysage sauvage et isolé jusqu'à la Ville des Glaciers et votre nuit d’étape à l’atmosphérique Refuge des Mottets.

Statistiques quotidiennes:

Distance: 20km | Dénivelé: +1500m | Descente: -900m

Hébergement

Dortoir (surclassement possible), repas du soir et petit-déjeuner

Notes du guide:

Sur papier, cela ressemble à l’un des jours le plus long et le plus difficile du trek, mais ne vous inquiétez pas, c’est très faisable. Il y a une bonne quantité de dénivelé mais il est intégré à des sections de terrain doux, ce qui rend la journée plus gérable. La clé est de commencer tôt et de prévoir suffisamment de temps.

JOUR 5 - REFUGE DES MOTTETS À COURMAYEUR

En restant au Refuge des Mottets, cela vous donne une excellente position en dessous du Col du Seigne à 2516m d’altitude. Même si vous montez parfois abruptement, vous allez vous retrouver en peu de temps au-dessus du col et à travers la frontière franco-italienne en Italie. Vous faites ensuite une descente dans le magnifique Val Veny avec une marche facile à travers les vallées suspendues jusqu'au lac Combal. De là, vous descendez La Visaille et prenez la navette pour Courmayeur.

Statistiques quotidiennes:

Distance: 14km | Dénivelé: +700m | Descente: -700m

Hébergement

Hôtel 3 étoiles, chambres en-suite privées, B&B

Notes du guide:

Un de mes jours préférés du trek sur le Tour du Mont Blanc, la vue depuis le Col du Seigne est incomparable! Une fois que vous êtes au col et si la météo le permet, reposez-vous un moment et admirez la vue imprenable sur l'Italie et la Suisse, qui est tout simplement merveilleux!

JOUR 6 - COURMAYEUR AU REFUGIO BONATTI

Entièrement rafraîchi, vous montez au Refuge Bertoni pour profiter d'une vue imprenable sur le Mont Blanc et Courmayeur en contrebas. Vous passez ensuite le reste de la journée sur une haute traversée du haut du Val Ferret avec une vue stupéfiante sur le versant italien du Mont Blanc, avant d'atteindre votre hébergement au magnifique Refuge Bonatti, à 2056m.

Statistiques quotidiennes:

Distance: 17km | Dénivelé: +750m | Descente: -50m

Hébergement

Dortoir (surclassement possible), repas du soir et petit-déjeuner

Notes du guide:

Une montée raide mais régulière jusqu'au Refuge Bertoni, cela en vaut la peine car le café est fabuleux et la vue est magnifique, les elevenses ici sont un must! Vues incroyables sur certains des sommets les plus célèbres des Alpes européennes, notamment le Mont Blanc et les Grand Jorasses. Et pour le refuge Bonatti ... c'est tout simplement merveilleux! Si la nuit est claire, allez dehors après le dîner et profitez de cet endroit impressionnant.

JOUR 7 - REFUGIO BONATTI À LA FOULY

Un départ tôt et un nouveau pays vous attend. Vous continuez votre aventure à travers le Val Ferret jusqu'à Arnuva, avant de faire une longue ascension vers le Grand Col Ferret, à 2537m via le Refugio Elena et la frontière italo-suisse. Vous faites ensuite une descente relativement facile et agréable via la Peule, Ferret jusqu'à La Fouly et votre hébergement à l'hôtel pour la nuit.

Statistiques quotidiennes:

Distance: 20km | Dénivelé: +900m | Descente: -1400m

Hébergement

Hôtel 3 étoiles, chambres en-suite privées, repas du soir et petit-déjeuner

Notes du guide:

Encore une fois, cette journée semble difficile mais les parties difficiles sont bien espacées avec un terrain plus aisé. Puis une fois au Col, profitez avec émerveillement la vue en regardant vos 3 derniers jours de trekking vers le Col du Seigne et par-dessus la frontière en Suisse. La descente est longue mais à un angle facile et le chemin est bon. Beaucoup d'occasions de s'arrêter pour des rafraîchissements à Arnurva, au Refuge Elena et à La Peule.

JOUR 8 - LA FOULY À CHAMPEX-LAC

Le 8ème jour apporte une journée facile en comparaison. Une marche dans le magnifique Val Ferret suisse et vous traversez les villages suisses de Praz de Fort et Issert avant de faire votre ascension vers le charmant village de Champex-Lac et votre lieu de repos pour la nuit.

Statistiques quotidiennes:

Distance: 15km | Dénivelé: +420m | Descente: -570m

Hébergement

Hôtel 3 étoiles, chambres en-suite privées, repas du soir et petit-déjeuner

Notes du guide:

La journée la plus facile du trek avec seulement 400m de dénivelé positif qui arrive en fin de journée. Détendez-vous et profitez d'un petit-déjeuner plus tard avant de vous promener dans le magnifique Val Ferret suisse. Pause café à Issert mais il n'est pas ouvert le mardi, alors prévoyez à l'avance si vous faites cette étape ce jour-là de la semaine!

JOUR 9 - CHAMPEX-LAC À TRIENT

Un départ tranquil à faire alors que vous marchez sur des chemins faciles vers le Plan de l'Au. Vous montez ensuite régulièrement à l'Alpage Bovine, à 1987m d’altitude, et profitez d'une vue imprenable sur Martigny et le Valais suisse. Vous passez ensuite le reste de la journée à faire votre descente vers le Col du Forclaz, à1526m, avec une dernière descente vers Trient.

Possibilité de prendre la variante via la Fenêtre d'Arpette.

Statistiques quotidiennes:

Via Bovine:
Distance: 18km | Dénivelé: +750m | Descente: -950m
Via la Fenêtre d’Arpette:
Distance: 15km | Dénivelé: +120m | Descente: -1350m

Hébergement

Auberge avec chambres privées et salle de bain commune, repas du soir et petit-déjeuner

Notes du guide:

La route des bovins est une journée fabuleuse pas trop délicate sur un beau terrain. Une pause déjeuner à la ferme alpine de Bovine est une nécessité absolute, vous pouvez acheter de la nourriture locale ou même manger votre propre pique-nique sur la terrasse tant que vous achetez une boisson. Une vue imprenable sur le lac Léman et la vallée du Rhône. Ou peut-être essayez la variante difficile sur la Fenêtre d'Arpette avec une vue exceptionnelle sur le glacier du Trient une fois au col.

JOUR 10 - TRIENT À ARGENTIERE

Aujourd'hui, vous avez deux options, soit vous pouvez prendre la route directement vers le Col du Balme depuis Trient, ou soit vous pouvez à travers les bois alpins jusqu'à l'Alpage de Tseppes, Catogne et ensuite jusqu'au Col du Balme, à 2191m d’altitude, et la frontière Suisse / France. Depuis le Col du Balme, vous faites ensuite une descente vers le hameau du Tour à travers les pâturages jusqu'au village d'Argentière et votre hébergement en hôtel pour la soirée.

Statistiques quotidiennes:

Directement via le Col du Balme:
Distance: 13km | Dénivelé: +900m | Descente: -900m
Via Catogne et le Col du Balme:
Distance: 15km | Dénivelé: +1000m | Descente: -1000m

Hébergement

Hôtel 3 étoiles, chambres en-suite privées, repas du soir et petit-déjeuner

Notes du guide:

Personnellement, à moins que la météo ne soit mauvais, empruntez la route via Catogne, les vues sont bien supérieures et vous empruntez une traversée élevée avec d'excellentes vues sur le barrage d'Emossom et la réserve naturelle de l'Aiguille Rouge.

JOUR 11 - ARGENTIERE À CHAMONIX

Votre dernier jour et une fin convenable au trek qui vous ramènent dans l'Aiguille Rouge au magnifique Lac des Cheserys et au Lac Blanc, à 2352m d’altitude. Une fois au lac, vous faites ensuite une descente vers Flégère et empruntez le sentier du balcon traversant au-dessus de la vallée de Chamonix jusqu'à Planpraz, votre point de départ 10 jours plus tôt, pour terminer le circuit. Une dernière descente via le téléphérique pour retourner à Chamonix à temps pour un verre et pour fêter la fin du Tour du Mont Blanc, l'un des meilleurs treks de plusieurs jours au monde.

En cas de fermeture des remontées mécaniques, descendez vers Chamonix via Flégère à pied.

Statistiques quotidiennes:

Distance: 14km | Dénivelé: +1200m | Descente: -500m

Hébergement

Hôtel 3 étoiles, chambres en-suite privées, B&B

Notes du guide:

Une fin convenable avec un retour dans la réserve naturelle de l'Aiguille et une vue imprenable sur le massif du Mont Blanc avec tout ses sommets et glaciers. Visitez l'emblématique Lac Blanc et une étape incontournable pour des rafraîchissements dans le refuge. Il y a beaucoup de marcheurs en août, alors commencez tôt si possible.

JOUR 12 - DEPART DE CHAMONIX

Le petit-déjeuner est inclus, mais le jour de départ vous êtes libre.

Notes du guide:

Une fois que vous avez terminé le trek, j'espère que vous serez en accord avec moi que le Tour du Mont Blanc est vraiment un trek exceptionnel et porte une place digne de l'un des 10 meilleurs treks au monde!

Sending email...

UK: +44 (0)161 408 1222

France: +33 (0)7 81 58 69 03

USA: +1 303 800 5866

Australia: +61 75660 6258

Tour du Mont Blanc Full Self Guided Trek

Independent hiking on the TMB

Book now
Feefo - Independant Service Rating
Enquire now

The Mont Blanc full circuit self guided trek is the most popular long distance trek in Europe and it is not hard to see why, the environment is truly spectacular covering an approximate distance of 170k with stunning views day after day. Undertaking the Tour du Mont Blanc self-guided is reserved for experienced independent mountain walkers, the daily height gain on the Mont Blanc Circuit is substantial with overall the accumulation for the 10 day trek in the region of 9,000m.

11 night itinerary

Day 1 ARRIVAL IN CHAMONIX

As we are based in Chamonix please ask if you wish to have a self guided trek briefing to go through any aspect of your trek before you start on your adventure.

If you require a briefing on your day of arrival please specify at the time of booking so we can make sure someone will be available.

Accommodation:

3* Hotel, private en-suite rooms, B & B

Day 2 CHAMONIX TO LES HOUCHES

You commence the Tour Mont Blanc full trek from Chamonix taking the cable car to the Planpraz at 2000m, from here you take the TMB route to the Col du Brevent, Brevent 2525m and descend along the stunning ridge to Refuge Bel Lachat. From the refuge, you make the long and tough descent via Parc Merlet to Les Houches and your hotel accommodation for the night.

Daily stats:

Distance: 13k | Height gain: +700m | Descent: -1500m

Accommodation:

3* Hotel, private en-suite rooms, half board

Guide notes:

This day often feels one of the toughest on the trek generally because people are not fully acclimatised. The descent can be punishing & is probably the most difficult during the trek due 1500m sustained down hill & at times rocky terrain. Walking poles are recommended to save the knees!

Day 3 LES HOUCHES TO LES CONTAMINES:

Your day starts with a cable car ride to Bellevue 1802m with stunning views of the Mont Blanc range from high above the westerly end of the Chamonix valley. You then have a choice of routes to Les Contamines via Bionnassay & Chapel or the Col du Tricot & Chalets des Miage.

Daily stats:

Using the cable car:
Via Bionnassay: Distance: 15k | Height gain: +100m | Descent: -700m
Via Col du Tricot: Distance: 13k | Height gain: +800m| Descent: -1300m

Accommodation:

3* Hotel, private en-suite rooms, half board

Guide notes:

Day two & you are probably feeling a little tiered from the first day. The terrain is very different today, less rugged & more green as you will be trekking though high altitude pastureland. If you are trekking via the Col du Tricot check out the Blueberry pie at the Chalets des Miage, very memorable & delicious!

Day 4 LES CONTAMINES TO REFUGE MOTTETS:

A great day ahead awaits as you make your ascent over three cols, Col du Bonhomme, Col de la Croix du Bonhomme and the Col des Fours 2665m. Once over the three cols you descend steeply through the wild and remote landscape to Ville des Glaciers and your rest stop for the night at the atmospheric Refuge Mottets.

Daily stats:

Distance: 20k | Height gain: +1500m | Descent: -900m

Accommodation:

Dormitory (upgrade possible), half board

Guide notes:

On paper this looks like one of the longest & toughest days on the trek but don’t worry its very doable. There is a fair amount of height gain but it is integrated with sections of gentle terrain, which make the day more manageable. The key is to start early & allow plenty of time.

Day 5 REFUGE MOTTETS TO COURMAYEUR:

By staying at the Refuge Mottets it gives you a great position below the Col du Seigne 2516m, although you climb steeply at times you soon find yourselves over the col and across French/Italian border into Italy. You then make a descent into the stunning Val Veny with easy walking through the hanging valleys to Lac Combal. From here you descend La Visaille and take the shuttle bus to Courmayeur.

Daily stats:

Distance: 14k | Height gain: +700m | Descent: -700m

Accommodation:

3* Hotel, private en-suite rooms, B & B

Guide notes:

One of my favourite days on the Tour du Mont Blanc, the views from the Col du Seigne is second to none! Once you are at the col & if the weather is right rest for a while & take in the far-reaching views in to Italy & Switzerland, just wonderful!

Day 6 COURMAYEUR TO REFUGIO BONATTI:

Fully refreshed you make your ascent to the Refuge Bertoni and enjoy amazing views of Mont Blanc and Courmayeur down below. You spend the rest of the day on a lofty traverse from high above the Val Ferret with stunning views of the Italian side of the Mont Blanc before reaching your accommodation at the beautiful Refuge Bonatti 2056m.

Daily stats:

Distance: 17k | Height gain: +750m | Descent: -50m

Accommodation:

Dormitory (upgrade possible), half board

Guide notes:

A steep but steady climb up to the Refuge Bertoni, it’s worth it because the coffee is fabulous & the views just stunning, elevenses’ here is a must! Fabulous views of some of the most famous peaks in the European Alps including Mont Blanc & the Grand Jorasses. And for the refuge Bonatti... its just fabulous, if the night is clear go our side after diner & just 'be' in this impressive location.

Day 7 REFUGIO BONATTI TO LA FOULY:

An early start and a new country awaits, you continue through the Val Ferret to Arnuva before making your long ascent to the Grand Col Ferret 2537m via the Refugio Elena and the Italian/Swiss border. You then make a relatively easy and enjoyable descent via la Peule, Ferret to La Fouly and your hotel accommodation for the night.

Daily stats:

Distance: 20k | Height gain: +900m | Descent: -1400m

Accommodation:

3* private en-suite rooms, half board

Guide notes:

Again this day looks tough but the hard bits are nicely spaced with less challenging terrain & once at the Col stare in wonder at the view looking back at your last 3 days of trekking towards the Col du Seigne & over the boarder into Switzerland. The descent is long but at an easy angle & the path is good. Plenty of opportunity to stop for refreshments at Arnurva, Refuge Elena & La Peule.

Day 8 LA FOULY TO CHAMPEX-LAC:

Day 8 brings an easy day in comparison walking in the beautiful Swiss Val Ferret. You pass through the Swiss villages of Praz de Fort and Issert before make your ascent to the charming village of Champex-Lac and your resting place for the evening.

Daily stats:

Distance: 15k | Height gain: +420m | Descent: -570m

Accommodation:

3* private en-suite rooms, half board

Guide notes:

The easiest day on the trek with only 400m of ascent, which comes at the end of the day. Relax & take advantage with a later breakfast before wandering down the beautiful Swiss Val Ferret. Cafe at Issert but its not open on a Tuesday so plan ahead if you are trekking this leg on that day of the week!

Day 9 CHAMPEX-LAC TO TRIENT:

An initial leisurely start to the day is to be had as you wind our way on easy paths to Plan de l'Au. You then climb steadily to the Alpage Bovine 1987m and enjoy fabulous views over Martigny and the Swiss Valais. The rest of the day is spent making your descent to the Col du Forclaz 1526m with a final descent to Trient.

Option to take the variant via the Fenetre d'Arpette.

Daily stats:

Via Bovine: Distance: 18k | Height gain: +750m | Descent: -950m or via the Fenetre d'Arpette: Distance: 15k | Height gain: +120m | Descent: -1350m

Accommodation:

Auberge with private rooms & shared facilities, half board

Guide notes:

The Bovine route is a fabulous day not too tricky over lovely terrain. Lunch stop at the high alpine farm at Bovine is a must, you can purchase local food or even eat your own picnic on the terrace as long as you buy a drink. Amazing views across to Lac Leman & down the Rhone valley. Or perhaps try the challenging variant over the Fenetre d'Arpette with amazing views of the Trient Glacier once at the col.

Day 10 TRIENT TO ARGENTIERE:

Today you have two options as you can take the route directly to the Col du Balme from Trient or through alpine woodland to the Alpage of Tseppes, Catogne and on to the Col du Balme 2191m and the Swiss/French border. From the Col, you then make your descent to the hamlet of Le Tour and across pastureland to the village of Argentiere and our hotel accommodation for the evening.

Daily stats:

Direct via the Col du Balme: Distance: 13k | Height gain: +900m | Descent: -900m or Via Catogne & the Col du Balme: Distance: 15k | Height gain: +1000m | Descent: -1000m

Accommodation:

3* private en-suite rooms, half board

Guide notes:

Personally unless the weather is bag take the route via Catogne, the views are far superior as one up high you take a lofty traverse with excellent views over towards Emossom dam & the Aiguille Rouges nature reserve Stop if you dare at the refuge at the Col du Balme. Service with a grimace rather than a smile!

Day 11 ARGENTIERE TO CHAMONIX

Your final day and a fitting end to the trek takes you back into the Aiguille Rouges to the stunning Lac des Cheserys and Lac Blanc 2352m. Once at the lake you then make a descent to Flegere and take the balcony path traversing high above the Chamonix valley to Planpraz and your starting point completing the circuit. A final decent via the cable car back to Chamonix in time for a celebratory drink as you have just completed the Tour du Mont Blanc, one of the best multi day treks in the world.

In the event of lift closures, we make your descent back to Chamonix via Flegere.

Daily stats:

Distance: 14k | Height gain: +1200m | Descent: -500m

Accommodation:

3* private en-suite rooms, B & B

Guide notes:

A fitting end to the trek back in the Aiguille nature reserve with pristine views of the Mont Blanc massif & all its peaks & glaciers. Visiting the iconic Lac Blanc is a must & stop for refreshments in the refuge. It gets busy with day walkers in August so make an early start if possible.

Day 12 DEPART CHAMONIX

Breakfast is included however on the departure day you are free to leave at any time you wish.

Guide notes:

Once you have completed the trek I hope you will agree that the Tour du Mont Blanc is truly an exceptional trek & has a worthy place as of one of the worlds top 10 long distance walks.